BMW K bikes (Bricks)

You are not connected. Please login or register

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Back to top Go down   HELP-losing power while riding Empty HELP-losing power while riding Mon Aug 22, 2016 3:06 pm

eman-nyc

eman-nyc
Hello,
Since I am new to this I was hoping i can get some info regarding the issue Im having.
I started recently having issues with my 1989 k100.
First it was with the battery loosing power. I charged it and it worked fine. After couple of days riding it started loosing power and the bike would stop while riding. Took it to a mechanic and it seemed that the battery totally lost power, as soon as i would connect jump cables the bike would start and work fine.
Today it happened the same thing while i was riding i noticed the engine wasnt sounding right and soon enough it stopped and it wouldnt start up. I used the jump cables again and it worked fine.
Im starting to believe that the bike is draining the battery somehow or maybe just the battery is gone bad. 
Anyone had the same issues or is just me....
Any feedback is appreciated 
Thank you in advance

2Back to top Go down   HELP-losing power while riding Empty age of battery? Mon Aug 22, 2016 7:34 pm

kennybob

kennybob
Silver member
Silver member
Is the battery fairly new and fresh, or has it been through a few seasons and likely to be on it's last legs?

A fresh battery at 100% state of charge should read 12.7 vdc or higher with no loads pulling current, aka open circuit voltage or OCV.  If it is reading 12.0 or lower OCV then it is at about 45% state of charge.  There are tables on the internet, so measure you battery voltage and determine it's state of charge.  Then try to charge it and see if it holds a charge.  A weak, old, or worn out battery can't hold a charge anymore, and that is likely your problem.

3Back to top Go down   HELP-losing power while riding Empty Re: HELP-losing power while riding Mon Aug 22, 2016 11:34 pm

duck

duck