BMW K bikes (Bricks)

You are not connected. Please login or register

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Back to top Go down   Fork mismatch Empty Fork mismatch Tue May 21, 2019 10:39 am

Michael Sydney

Michael Sydney
Silver member
Silver member
I am still new to bikes so maybe this is a simple question. I recently bought a 1984 K 100 as a project (I also have an '83 K100 as my regular bike)

The "new" bike had leaking fork seals. Replacement was easy, but when I put back in the yokes found that the two sides are different lengths. To easily slide the axle through I would need to lift one fork tube about 10mm higher in the upper yoke.

Should I simply compress one side to insert the axle with the two uppers level with top of upper yoke?

PS, the fork tubes are certainly in the same plane, just length difference.

2Back to top Go down   Fork mismatch Empty Re: Fork mismatch Tue May 21, 2019 2:39 pm

tinyspuds

tinyspuds
Life time member
Life time member
Someone on here with BMW teles will tell you the likely cause and resolution. But in the meantime do not attempt to ride with one leg compressed as you suggest.Fork mismatch 797640

2000 Hayabusa with Charnwood chair, Wasp forks and EZS wheels.

3Back to top Go down   Fork mismatch Empty Re: Fork mismatch Tue May 21, 2019 6:49 pm

Snod Blatter

Snod Blatter
Life time member
Life time member
To be clear, that is not normal!

Are you sure they're the same type of fork? Are the markings on the inside near the mudguard the same on both?

4Back to top Go down   Fork mismatch Empty Re: Fork mismatch Wed May 22, 2019 12:08 am

Basic2

Basic2
Platinum member
Platinum member
Michael, you didn't miss a spacer when you were reassembling one leg?

5Back to top Go down   Fork mismatch Empty Re: Fork mismatch Wed May 22, 2019 2:01 am

Suzi Q

Suzi Q
Life time member
Life time member