BMW K bikes (Bricks)

You are not connected. Please login or register

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Back to top Go down   Absolute Newbie Empty Absolute Newbie Tue Apr 12, 2011 2:27 am

kg4miq

Hello all,
I hate being the "new guy," but I'm just getting started in this sport. I figured I'm in my mid-to-late 30s, it's time for some "big boy" toys. I've ridden ATVs and such, but very rarely a motorcycle, and usually only an off-road type. Am in the process of purchasing a 1985 K100RT with only 13,680-ish miles. Previous owner bought it new in Germany in '85, brought it home to the states and kept it since then. He's a buddy from work, and I mentioned I was looking at possibly getting a bike, and I was interested in BMWs. He said he had one he'd sell, since he's upgraded to an R1200, and he'd hate to see this one just sitting. I have to get a new battery and registration, but as soon as I got it home I gave it a bath. I've connected a jumper battery and it fired right up! Purrs like a kitten! SCORE! Now, I just need to get all the other stuff to ride safely! Still very new to the sport and getting acquainted with the vocabulary and etiquette, so bear with me, I might make a few mistakes.

Here's what I have:
Absolute Newbie 5599938674_560604d40d_b

Absolute Newbie 5599356333_e5cef756cd_b

(Note the missing fairing panel cover...I could sure use one, if anyone has a spare lying around!!!) Corbin saddle is comfy!
Absolute Newbie 5599356537_2207398bfe_b

Yes, those are the actual documented miles...not a replacement set of gauges.
Yes, I plan on running Seafoam through a few tanks of gas.
Yes, the fuel pump is on my "watch list."
Yes, I'll lube the drive splines.
Yes, I'll keep an eye on the center stand for cracks and rust.
Yes, I've checked the cooling fan.
Yes, I do have the pannier bags and trunk bag, but forgot to put them back on before taking the photo. Sorry.