BMW K bikes (Bricks)

You are not connected. Please login or register

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Back to top Go down    Tank removal -- Where are those clips? on Mon Jun 13, 2011 3:22 pm

CaperKen

Silver member
Silver member
I got back from riding yesterday and found that I have quite a substantial gas leak. It seems to be dripping from the insulation under the tank. I'm new to the K (April 29 '11 was my first ride on my new bike) and haven't needed to do anything to the bike so far, i.e., inexperienced with the K.

I searched the site and followed the advice and also used the downloadable Clymer & Haynes manuals. But, where the heck are those clips at the back of the tank? (I have '90 K 100 RS.) I see what looks like a bolt at each side of the bottom of the rear of the tank. I've poked with needle nose pliers into the tiny area available around a bright colored washer piece that could be the clip. However, it did not move with moderate to heavy pulling with the pliers. Is there a trick? I don't want to break anything.

Also, the bike was on its centre stand and the gas leaked onto the bottom part of the black inside part if the fairing (knee pad?). The area that go soaked with gas seems to be distorted now. Is there any fix for that?

Thanks ahead for any advice. Ken

Crazy Frog

admin
admin
I already replied, but I guess I forgot to save it .... I really need vacation to relax!
Why do you want to ride the bike Ken? tomorrow will be only 8° in CB. Hope your skidoo is still operational!
Here I go again...

RicK G

VIP
VIP
I have found that the majority of Ks the clips have gone probably because they are a PITA. Try to lift the tank to see if it will come off.