BMW K bikes (Bricks)

You are not connected. Please login or register

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

artie86

Hi All, newbie here,greetings from North Yorkshire.Got me an '86 RT ex police I'm told which has been laid up for a while.Anyways got the bike started ok but have a few queries.Please pardon my ignorance,this is my first beemer.

1.ABS light keeps on flashing while the bikes running.

2.the red warning triangle above the neutral light stays on as well.while running

3.got some corrosion under the paint on the tank just in front of the filler what's the best way to tackle that?.

4.Turned the ignition on yesterday and there was no power(clock working ,no blown fuses)is there a problem with ignitions on this model.

Apologies for going on a bit,thanks to anyone who can shed a light on my troubles,regards,Artie. Very Happy

twincarb

twincarb
Life time member
Life time member
Hi artie86, and welcome to the forum

The ABS light flashing and the red triangle warning being on at the same time is telling you a) the ABS isnt working b) there is a problem with the ABS...

The lights when everything is working properly should go out once it has completed it's self test, there is a process on here talking through how to identify what the "ABS brain" thinks the problems is and how to reset the fault indications. If all else fails and the "ABS brain" has a fault (failed component) there is a guy in Japan who can repair it. I keep meaning to send mine off!
http://bmwk10075abs1fix.web.fc2.com/ The link to the left if his website.

artie86

Thanks twincarb,that's got the ball rolling,many thanks,Artie

twincarb

twincarb
Life time member
Life time member
Not a problem at all, you will find that we are all here to help and pass on our experiances, Pop into the new member section and say hi in there and get to know some of the chaps on here....

charlie99

charlie99
VIP
VIP
hiya artie...welcome to the forum