BMW K bikes (Bricks)

You are not connected. Please login or register

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

kj6304

kj6304
Hello there,

I am a newbie and have just acquired a 1990 K100LT but has problem riding it because of the ride height at 31.9" that makes me very hard to balance the bike while moving it forward or backward to turn without losing my balance. I would like to ask our BMW Gurus is there a way to lower it like the low rider height at 29.9" which will be most effective to enable me to ride this bike instesd of selling it? I would very much appreciated your kind assistance and suggestion.

Thanks & regards and have a nice weekend.

Bob

MT350Explorer

MT350Explorer
Life time member
Life time member
Hi Bob

There are lots of options to lower the ride height and quite a few threads you might want to search for cover most of them. A few possibilities below:

- Fitting a different seat or cutting out foam from the existing seat
- Fitting a shorter rear shock (see Realm Engineering for an example)
- Fitting lower profile tyres
- Getting riding boots with larger heels (therea re specila boots out there made for people short of leg) and/or inserts for your boots
- there is also a BMW OEM lower seat kit that is complex but available - Motorworks has them advertsied second hand on their website

I have the same problem as you but the more I ride the machine the more my confidence increases and the smaller the ride height issue is. That said I will try the short shock route (and dropping the forks through the yokes by the same amount) at some point just to aid paddling the bike backwards which I can't currently do and means I have to plan parking etc well in advance.

Hope this helps - if you really like the bike I'd encourage you to persevere as it will reward in the end. Very Happy

All the Best
Dave

Two Wheels Better

Two Wheels Better