BMW K bikes (Bricks)

You are not connected. Please login or register

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Back to top Go down   TANK SWAP Empty TANK SWAP Wed Sep 30, 2020 7:34 am

moriarti

moriarti
Life time member
Life time member
Hi ALL Your thoughts ideas and suggestions on fitting early single bolt tank to replace later 2 legs/pin fittings.A weld fittings onto frame to accommodate single bolt position cross rail.B make 2 legs/pins and fix to tank to utilize original tank fixing.  Chatter

2Back to top Go down   TANK SWAP Empty Re: TANK SWAP Wed Sep 30, 2020 8:05 am

Suzi Q

Suzi Q
Life time member
Life time member
I've done the swaps in both directions. AFAIK the change from the single bolt type was because of a problem with the mounting - the 'tongue' on the tank - not being strong enough. That said, I've been running a single bolt mounting tank for over thirty years without an issue.
That 'problem' aside, I think the later type of mounting is pants - the clips are really fiddly, the rubbers keep coming out, and I don't think they'd stand much chance of holding a full tank in place in a collision. So...I'd junk those clips and pins and weld 2 captive nuts to the frame to replicate the earlier type mounting. 
Not that I'm biased.... Laughing

3Back to top Go down   TANK SWAP Empty Re: TANK SWAP Wed Sep 30, 2020 8:55 am

moriarti

moriarti
Life time member
Life time member
Cheers,chris, welding the captive nuts on was my first choice too but its a mates bike so thought best to ask on the ORICAL. Very Happy Very Happy

4Back to top Go down   TANK SWAP Empty Re: TANK SWAP Wed Sep 30, 2020 11:06 am

Point-Seven-five

Point-Seven-five
Life time member
Life time member
Chris, with regard to your comment about holding the tank in a collision I have heard people worry about it not only coming away from the bike, but also having the pegs tearing holes in the tank or some such.