BMW K bikes (Bricks)

You are not connected. Please login or register

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

phoenixk2b

phoenixk2b
Hey Guys,
First of you people are great. I've been trying to get as much knowledge and info as google will find. Thanks.

Here's my problem. First I'm no mechanic. But because I love Beemers (I had a new R100RT in 80) and my current resources are limited. I bought an old "Brick". When I bought it the engine turned over. I engaged the gears to see if it was seized, nope. I brought it home and first discovered a fuel tank with the "Pox", it looked like tiny little yellow red barnacles in the tank. The fuel pump wasn't running, replaced with Facet-Purolator. Replaced filter with Fram. I got the bike running for a couple of days. Then it just wouldn't fire. I tried starting it yesterday after removing the air filter, thinking it couldn't breath. I tried shooting some starting fluid in the breather box, it would pop, seemingly burning the ether, but wouldn't start. On the last try (obviously) the starter kept cranking even after I hit the kill switch and turned the key off; I had to unhook the battery to make it stop. I let the bike cool and the ether dry, applied the battery and it still wanted to crank.

The question is firstly, does anyone have any ideas why my starter won't turn off? I've seen posts on how to clean the starting switch module. Could that be it? I've seen posts that say the starter should be removed, cleaned and refurbished. Could that be my problem?

If anyone would like to take a shot at the no starting problem, I'd love to hear from you.

I'm not a mechanic, although I suppose I'll be one after restoring this bike. I've read alot of posts that talk about testing resistances on certain parts of the bike. I own a multi-meter but have never used it for testing resistances (I don't know how).