BMW K bikes (Bricks)

You are not connected. Please login or register

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Back to top Go down   hello from central Texas Empty hello from central Texas Sat May 11, 2013 7:10 pm

chrslws

chrslws
hi all, i am new to BMW and to this forum. i recently bought a 85 k100 not running and am hoping to get it going soon. I've read great things about the bike and look forward to putting some miles on it. i have done some digging on trouble shooting but no luck so far. if anyone in central or north Texas wants to help take a stab at it I'd be grateful. at this point I'd be willing to pay to get it working but am apprehensive about taking it to a dealer since it's an older bike and may be the first one the tech has ever worked on. thanks all! Chris in temple

2Back to top Go down   hello from central Texas Empty Re: hello from central Texas Sat May 11, 2013 7:19 pm

chrslws

chrslws
i guess i could include some more info on the condition. the previous owner rode it daily for about twelve years, up to 100k plus miles. on his way home about three months ago it suddenly died. he parked it and got a 2005 model. so far I've verified that the injectors are squirting gas and the plugs are sparking. the old plugs were pretty black and sooty when i replaced them with ngks. it occasionally backfires when i turn it over, but no running.

3Back to top Go down   hello from central Texas Empty Re: hello from central Texas Sat May 11, 2013 7:35 pm

club_c

club_c
Life time member
Life time member
Oh you are close to having it going. I would check the main connection to the computer under the seat. Plug and unplug a few times and see what happens. Also there is a temp sensor wire at the front left side of the engine. If that is corroded or broken off the sensor it will give a no start condition. You will likely have to remove the air cleaner box to see it. Also buy a can of DeOxit and treat every electrical connection.