Go to page : 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 2]

1Back to top Go down   Plug wires Empty Plug wires Mon Mar 24, 2014 9:14 pm

GeorgiaK

GeorgiaK
Silver member
Silver member
Hi all,

I've started a major overhaul on my bike, and I have to say, the information and community on this blog is amazing. I'm a complete novice and having this resource saves me many gray hairs.

A few months ago is when my bike started to act very funny. At 90mph the engine aggressively hiccuped and then eventually lost power (did I mention my wife was on the back?). I was able to start it back up but it has not run well since. Being the novice I am, I brought it to a BMW certified shop where I promptly waited 2 MONTHS to get my bike back. Long story short, it still doesn't run well.

This is the work I had done at the shop:
New vacuum caps to address a leak
New spark plugs
Carbs synced
New air filter
Valves realigned 

The shop also said my plug wires were shot and replacements were "unavailable". In order to replace the plug wires I'd need to replace ignition coils and new wires.

Most of this is straight from the shop ticket. This could be an easy fix for all I know, but it's all over my head.

Do any of you have an idea where I can source new plug wires? And if so, is this an easy job a novice can perform?

Thanks in advance for the help. I'm sure I'll many questions in the coming weeks.

2Back to top Go down   Plug wires Empty Re: Plug wires Mon Mar 24, 2014 9:55 pm

Rick G

Rick G
admin
admin
When they say CERTIFIED that has absolutely no connection with their ability to work on a motorcycle.
Firstly the need for new plug leads does NOT mean that new coils are necessary (that is a con)
And when you say Major overhaul what are you planning to do in an overall picture.