BMW K bikes (Bricks)

You are not connected. Please login or register

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Back to top Go down   Replace switchgear K 75 Empty Replace switchgear K 75 Sun Jul 06, 2014 7:31 am

Sagi

Sagi
Silver member
Silver member
Hi Guys, I'm new to K bikes and to motorcycle maintenance in general, unfortunately I need to replace/repair the left hand switchgear and the handlebar as my bike got damaged a little while ago. Now replacing the handlebar seems to be a pretty straightforward task and I don't think it will be much of a problem, the switchgear on the other hand worries me a little bit, especially since I have taken a look at the manual. 

I'm not completely useless with tools and do all my maintenance on the bicycle but let's be honest the motorbike is a bit more complicated and it turns out that I'm quite useless in interpreting the manuals and handbooks, even with all the pictures.. 

Without having a workshop or other good place to work on the bike I'm not sure if it is a good idea to try and start the repair myself, my fear is that I'll get to a point where I can't even drive it to a garage and hand it over to the professionals anymore.  

The switchgear is not damaged but somebody was nice enough to cut the wire leading to it so I'm not sure how to proceed, I could get the whole unit as a replacement or I guess I could try to repair the individual wires and get all connected again, either way I will have to remove it from the bike. Looking at the manual I have the impression this might not be as easy as I was hoping. Is it necessary to remove the whole fuel tank?  Can I access it by removing the radiator panel or the left hand side cover?

Better to bring it to the garage or is it not as big of a task as it seems?

2Back to top Go down   Replace switchgear K 75 Empty Re: Replace switchgear K 75 Sun Jul 06, 2014 10:02 am

92KK 84WW Olaf

Life time member
Life time member
Sagi