BMW K bikes (Bricks)

You are not connected. Please login or register

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Back to top Go down   newbie here Empty newbie here Tue Mar 29, 2011 5:38 pm

dabosswd

greetings...newbie here..name is wayne...just purchased a 1985 k100 standard model..of course im looking to do stuff to it already <grin>..first and formost id like to ad some wind protection...and i am not sure what can be bolted on...do the windscreens and fairings from other k100 models fit on this bike? if anyone can help id be most grateful...TIA

2Back to top Go down   newbie here Empty Re: newbie here Tue Mar 29, 2011 6:41 pm

Comberjohn

Comberjohn
Life time member
Life time member
Welcome to the forum Wayne.
You can fit the fairings from the RT, LT and RS models with minor mods to handlebars, brake lines and cables. Foot controls are the same.
The bits can usually be found on e bay or other ads. Someone on the forum may even have one for sale.
There are various other after-market fairings that would fit but are getting harder to find now.
I had a standard K a few years ago, wish I still had it for the warmer weather.
They are getting quite rare now. Most of the naked K's you see now originally had a fairing that has been removed or smashed.
If you do put a fairing on it, hold on to the cowling and headlight. They are getting hard to find if you ever wanted to return it to standard.

http://www.johnsdrivingschool.co

3Back to top Go down   newbie here Empty Re: newbie here Tue Mar 29, 2011 8:54 pm

dabosswd

thank you for the info...puts some confidance in me already....i sure would like it if i have small mods to do as i dont really like to change anything major on a bike........again thanks

Long Island n.y.

4Back to top Go down   newbie here Empty Re: newbie here Tue Mar 29, 2011 9:20 pm

blaKey

Life time member
Life time member
"i dont really like to change anything major on a bike"

Whoo Hoo! A person after my own heart!