BMW K bikes (Bricks)

You are not connected. Please login or register

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

jwetering

jwetering
I started riding almost three years ago now and honestly wonder why I waited as long as I did (I'm 48 now). Actually I know exactly why. I have a lead foot and I was keenly aware that a mistake at speed on two wheels is whole lot more serious than the same mistake on two wheels.

Nevertheless from the first moment I climbed aboard an old Suzuki GS550 - I was hooked. Riding felt as natural as walking to me - and maybe even more so because I could go a lot faster.

Anyhoo - I was lucky when I started riding that I needed a bike quick because my good friends - who had been riding a while - had planned an annual weekend tour and I wasn't about to miss another one of those.

Scouring the local Craigslist I could find only one BMW for sale - and I had decided long ago that I would be riding a BMW on account of my German machinery fixation.

The bike was a 1990 K75S in Marakesh red.

The bike and I have been fast friends for two and a half years now. I fixed the output shaft o-ring, I put a clutch in it, I replaced the hall sensors recently - and I rebuilt the front forks and some bodywork on account of I rode into the back of a Honda Civic. Not at high speed - I just wasn't paying attention.

Just last week I picked up a 1989 K100RT - which is why I am here. It has an electrical issue - actually two - one of which I think I fixed. I'll post up in the electrical forum because I have some questions.

Thanks in advance for you help.

jasper

Rick G

Rick G
admin
admin
Hi Jasper welcome to the Knuthaus

And then he is so anxious about the future that he does not enjoy the present; the result being that he does not live in the present or the future; he lives as if he is never going to die, and then dies having never really lived."   Dalai Lama

Bikes 1999 K1100 LT with a Big Block 1200

brickrider

brickrider