Two Wheels Better

Two Wheels Better
Researchers think so...check this link.

Visor Down

Rick G

Rick G
admin
admin
Not so I can show you quite a few who have bought their bad car driving habits to motorcycles and perfected them. They are what is commonly known as moronic idiots.
However I will say that learning to ride before learning to drive is a very definite plus to the car driving.

And then he is so anxious about the future that he does not enjoy the present; the result being that he does not live in the present or the future; he lives as if he is never going to die, and then dies having never really lived."   Dalai Lama

Bikes 1999 K1100 LT with a Big Block 1200

electric_monk

electric_monk
Silver member
Silver member
I currently work as a driver tester for both car and bike tests, before this I spent 6 years working as an advanded motorcycle instructor while occasionally dipping into fleet car training and I think this gives me a good perspective to answer this question.
Few motorcyclists are unaware of their vulnerability while riding and here in Ireland motorcyclists are more likely to take training before sitting their tests than car drivers and a good portion go on to take advanced training.
 As a result motorcyclists are better trained than car drivers here, and generally speaking their riding will improve whereas for the vast majority of car drivers, passing their test is the pinnacle of their driving career.
Another contributing factor is that most car drivers do not take the task of driving as serously as motorcyclists.
I can usually tell when someone sitting their car test rides a motorcycle

AJ.Valente

AJ.Valente
Life time member
Life time member
Ya, my first car at age 18 was junk. Switched to motorcycles at age 19.

BTW, based on the article, shouldn't motorcycle owners get a discount on car insurance? Question

My old K100 RT Pics and Mods

xpc316e

xpc316e
Gold member
Gold member