BMW K bikes (Bricks)

You are not connected. Please login or register

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Harry.Dip

Harry.Dip
Hi folks,

So I’m on the very last step of rewiring the BMW K100. Everything works (as far as I can tell) however I’m having trouble figuring out how to wire the Axel Joost neutral switch to the M.unit and an aftermarket speedo. I attached the sheet they provided me below, it has a diagram and German instructions.

Separately, I’m also interested how people wired in a clutch switch to the m.unit.

If you couldn’t guess I’m a newbie to electrical wiring and whilst I can follow a very basic diagram, any level above that requires a lot of research. Anyway I’d appreciate any help.Axel Joost Neutral Switch + M.unit and clutch switch woes Img_8511

Dai

Dai
Life time member
Life time member
I had to read that a few times before I figured out what they are doing with the gear indicator switch. There should be a cable that exits from the top of the gearbox casting and terminates in a black four-pin connector. The wire colours are brown, yellow/blue, yellow/black and yellow/white. Connect the yellow/x wires to the three yellow (gelb) wires on the Axel Joost unit (I see the English comment but the German says the same thing - any gear indicator wire to any yellow wire) and the brown wire to earth.

The orange (Orange) wire goes to the negative side of the neutral LED.

The black (Schwartz) wire goes to battery negative.

The green (Grun) wire goes to pin 85 (brown/red wire) on the starter relay. It looks like someone has already picked the brown/red wire, decided it was wrong and should be the black/yellow wire, then gone back to their original idea. I'm basing that on the length of the words that have been crossed out.