BMW K bikes (Bricks)

You are not connected. Please login or register

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

stevefzr

stevefzr
Hi Folks.  It's taken 21 bikes, not counting a couple of parts bikes, but I've finally bought my first K bike, a 1991 K1.  I started riding at 17 in 1974 and commuted on motorcycles for the next 35 years, at which point I swapped to a push bike.  My first bike wasa Honda CB250 and I progressed through Laverdas, Moto Guzzis and every brand of Japanese bike, with my last commuter being a Suzuki TL1000.  I've always preferred a sportier riding position as I'm fairly tall at 188cm, and I find wind pressure tiring on upright naked bikes.  I didn't last long without a bike and my son was asking about buying and restoring old bikes to make money.  I explained that you'd never make enough to cover the hours you'd spend fixing them up, and to prove it, I'd buy an old bike and restore it.  I bought a 78 R100S BMW off ebay for $2300AUS (about 1400 euro) and proceeded to restore it.  I spent a lot of time restoring the fairing and tin work when I should have just bought new stuff.  When it came time to paint it, I went for the R90S colours because that was the scheme I had loved since they first came out.  To me, the best looking bikes were built in the early 70s, with the pick being the Guzzi LM1, Laverda SFC, BMW R90s and Ducati 750SS.  The only one fairly easy to find is the R90s, however I preferred the R100S.  You see, back in the 1970s, the best race in the world to indicate what was the fastest production motorcycle was the Castrol 6 Hour held at Amaroo Park just outside Sydney.  Bikes had to be 100% stock and race for 6 hours.  BMW had tried to win it with their R90s and failed.  The Japanese were just unbeatable.  Then, in 1977, they did it with their R100S.  I was there to see it, and loved the R100S ever since.  So, while I loved the look of the R90s, I wanted an R100S, hence an R100S with an R90S paint job.  At