BMW K bikes (Bricks)

You are not connected. Please login or register

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Back to top Go down   How to touch up a LT fairing? Empty How to touch up a LT fairing? Tue Jul 02, 2013 8:28 am

K100LT Notts

K100LT Notts
Silver member
Silver member
A week ago, while tired at the end of 3 hour ride, I stopped on sloping ground and then tried to move off in 3rd = Stall and drop :-(

At least I managed to let it down gentle so fairing was not cracked/broken and only have deep scratches on lower fairing edge and mirror housing end from lifting it solo. I still do not know how I managed it but desperation helped as I was alone.

I have taken mirror to auto motive paint supplier and they have matched the colour in a spray can.

As I have never tried to paint the K before I need detailed guidance so I can learn as to the best method of application of Filler, Paint and Laquer (Undercoat?).

Currently I thought -
Sand with fine? paper
Filler (Isopon)
Sand (mini orbital with fine grit) to shape
Wipe with de-greaser wipe and wipe off
Undercoat?
Paint (How may layers? and sand between layers?
Laquer (How may layers)
Polish
Admire result?

You all seem to have this knowledge from your restoration projects so I thought I would seek practical guidance from the experienced to bring it back to an object of beauty again and maybe some good has come if I can master painting.  :-)

2Back to top Go down   How to touch up a LT fairing? Empty Re: How to touch up a LT fairing? Tue Jul 02, 2013 11:57 am

Rick G

Rick G
admin
admin