BMW K bikes (Bricks)

You are not connected. Please login or register

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Back to top Go down   Heavy duty friction plate K100rs Empty Heavy duty friction plate K100rs Thu Sep 11, 2014 4:59 pm

Flip2

Flip2
Silver member
Silver member
my adventure continues :pale: as i have now replaced the rear main seal on the 86 K100rs , installed the clutch housing etc and realized all that leaking oil got onto the friction plate and that spells replacement according to the manual.  a reminder that i'm a newbie to mechanical affairs and is why i didn't immediately realize i would prob need a new friction plate after discovering the mess.  

is the heavy duty / oil proof  friction plate from motobins, at nearly 3x the price, worth it? i know i could get two oem plates  for less than the "heavy duty one" but i thought if for whatever reason oil ends up past the rear main seal again the clutch would continue to work properly with the "oil proof". is that right?

btw one of my reasons for inspecting the splines for lube and going in to replace the rear main seal was some erratic shifting issues, ending up in neutral at times , hard to get in gear, grinding noises, . so is it reasonable to suspect the oiled friction plate as part of these problems? the splines are all in good shape, although in need of lube. 

flip

2Back to top Go down   Heavy duty friction plate K100rs Empty Re: Heavy duty friction plate K100rs Thu Sep 11, 2014 5:14 pm

charlie99

charlie99
VIP
VIP
if it took 20 something years for the rear seal to start leaking , then a fair bet would be that it wont happen again for a while ...if you have done a good job at replacing the seal this time around

I would hazard a guess that many would fall into the higher price friction plate out of fear that it might happen again .

but a gummy friction plate , along with poor spline lubrication would- might explain poor shifting characteristics