BMW K bikes (Bricks)

You are not connected. Please login or register

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Mooselet

Mooselet
Good afternoon!  I purchased a 1985 BMW K75 back in April.  Parked it in my driveway until I could get my endorsement straightened out, and we got hit with a massive sleet storm later that week.  The storm knocked the bike over in the middle of the night and blew the cover off in such a way that it was covered with sloppy frozen precipitation the next morning.  It has not started since.  I should note that I am a novice in all things mechanical.  I've maintained my own vehicles for years, but only through knowledge gleaned from YouTube and various forums, so there are definite gaps in my understanding and capability.

Crank

The first issue was extremely inconsistent results when attempting to start the bike.  Following the start up procedures initially produced regular cranking of the starter but not starting, but after several attempts while fiddling with the choke and throttle, the starter would crank even after the starter button was released.  I could stop it by turning the key to the off position.  Additional attempts got even weirder.  Once it stopped starting when the button was released, but then started cranking again when I released the clutch.  I again was forced to turn the key to get the starter to stop.  A quick search of the forum indicated a welded starter relay.  I replaced the component with a Niche starter relay and the bike went back to cranking as it should following start up procedures.  As far as I can tell, there are no additional issues with the starter, but the bike still won't start.

Fuel