BMW K bikes (Bricks)

You are not connected. Please login or register

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Back to top Go down   Greetings from Ohio! Empty Greetings from Ohio! Tue Mar 22, 2011 4:27 pm

Syncronaut

I would like to introduce myself. My name is Brett Fairbanks and I live and work in Columbus, Ohio, U.S.A. I just bought my first K bike, an '86 K100. The bike runs really well, but has various plastic bits missing and needs tires. The bike appears to be a standard model, but today I received the title and it says it's an RT. I'm sure the forum members will be able to help me sort that out. The bike has a round headlight but is missing the radiator shrouding and the side panels.

I like to do my own maintenace so I'm gathering the bits I need to get all the old fluids replaced. I work on German cars for a living, so I really like the way the K-bike is engineered, very much like a car and quite different than my last bike, a Ducati E900 Elefant. I look forward to learning from the wisdom of the list and I'm anxious to get the new bike sorted and on the road.

Cheers,

Brett

2Back to top Go down   Greetings from Ohio! Empty Re: Greetings from Ohio! Tue Mar 22, 2011 5:39 pm

Hi Brett. Welcome to the forum. Grab the VIN off the bike and take it with you to www.realoem.com enter the site and type in the number portion of your VIN on the page you come to...you may have the US 17 digit type starting with WB so type in just the last seven digits. The catalogue will tell you which model your bike was originally, never fail.

The New South Wales RTA (Dept of MV) has my bike listed as a 1988 K1100R (who ever hoid o' such a thing!?) and I can't get them to correct it! Cheers.

Last edited by Two Wheels Better on Tue Mar 22, 2011 7:27 pm; edited 1 time in total

3Back to top Go down   Greetings from Ohio! Empty Re: Greetings from Ohio! Tue Mar 22, 2011 6:01 pm

Syncronaut