BMW K bikes (Bricks)

You are not connected. Please login or register

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Back to top Go down   Delayed in Columbus Ohio Empty Delayed in Columbus Ohio Sun Sep 06, 2015 8:41 pm

veets

veets
I'm new to the K100 Motorcycle and after riding it across 2/3 of the US, I ran into a major problem:  White smoke coming out of the exhaust and then it just died at a stop sign.  It felt like it ran out of gas but the tank is full.  

Background:  The night before I ran into a big storm and the bike and I got completely soaked.  At that time, the generator light came on and seemed not to be charging.  The next day, I was able to disconnect all of the wiring to the battery wipe it down, put on dielectric grease, and reconnected all of the wires.  That seemed to fix the charging problem.  I rode it around for about 1/2 hour and I noticed a little white smoke when I first started out but it quickly went away.

Later that next day, when I tried starting it, more white smoke came out and then stalled at the stop sign.  If I try to start it now, it does not turn over, only drips gas out of the pipe connection just below the foot pegs.

I am assuming this is not a good sign but need to figure out my course of action.  Any ideas on what it might be?

Veets

2Back to top Go down   Delayed in Columbus Ohio Empty Re: Delayed in Columbus Ohio Sun Sep 06, 2015 9:02 pm

Rick G

Rick G
admin
admin
You need to check the coolant level as what you are saying is classic of a leaking head gasket.
Pull the plugs and check for coolant in one or more cylinders and check in the coolant tank for oil (unlikely but always on the cards)
If left on the side stand you will get the blueish smoke from oil but white usually means coolant in the combustion chambers.