BMW K bikes (Bricks)

You are not connected. Please login or register

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Back to top Go down   Project in mind Empty Project in mind Mon May 13, 2013 11:57 pm

///Mthusiast

///Mthusiast
Hello, I have a streetfighter/ cafe style bike project in mind and recently found a 1988 k100 LT for sale with fire damage. According to the seller, the bike was running well before a garage fire melted the ignition switch along with some other wires. All maintenance has been performed prior to the fire and the seller states the motor and chassis were un damaged.

I am a beginner when it comes to bike restoration but base my mechanical experience from cars in the past. I own a BMW vehicle and thought this would be a nice budget project to salvage this old massive hog and turn it into a piece of individual mechanical art. I Like the mechanical look of a stripped down k100.

The bike is a bit of a drive away and wanted to get a good idea of what I could be getting myself into before making the trip. My question is mainly technical. What could I be facing in replacement parts to get the bike running? New ignition switch, gauges, wiring harness etc......?Hopefully the ECM didn't get too hot It looks like the damage is mainly on the top of the bike.

Comments? Suggestions? Questions?

Im a part of the m3 forum community which I have found extremely helpful and I hope to find this BMW community just as enthusiastic and helpful! Thanks Project in mind 502531 Tell me what you think Im open for any ideas comments or suggestions.

http://inlandempire.craigslist.org/mcy/3740779863.html

2Back to top Go down   Project in mind Empty Re: Project in mind Wed May 15, 2013 12:13 am

///Mthusiast

///Mthusiast
nothing? Im guessing this thread interests no one. Shocked

3Back to top Go down   Project in mind Empty Re: Project in mind Wed May 15, 2013 12:18 am

charlie99

charlie99
VIP
VIP
welcome mate ,