BMW K bikes (Bricks)

You are not connected. Please login or register

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Harry.Dip

Harry.Dip
Hi again folks,

So I installed the m-unit recently and attempted to start the bike, starter motor works, fuel is being pumped, new battery (up to spec with bike req), MAS getting old, but none of the injectors are spraying fuel nor are any of the spark plugs working. So to diagnosing and I’m just a newbie so take with a grain of salt.

Using crazy frogs diagram, I found that I couldn’t get the led to light up on one of hall sensors, moreover it seems that the previous owner played around with it because the gold screws that hold it in place are stripped. I don’t get signals from the computers to send a pulse.

Second, I found that most of the wires relating to the ignition all have a 12v ground running through them when the bike is off, as if they are acting as an earth wire (- multimeter lead on wire, + on battery). I traced it back to pin 1 on the electronic ignition module (one at front of the bike) however it’s an earth wire.

So, questions. Assuming only one of the sensors is broken wouldn’t the bike still fire on 2 cylinders? Is the negative 12v wires in the bike off position normal? Annnd does anyone have any experiences with similar problems or something to keep an eye on?

EDIT: One last note is if I run the starter then stop, as soon as I stop it will spray the injectors once.

Thanks all

Laitch

Laitch
Life time member
Life time member
Harry.Dip wrote:I found that most of the wires relating to the ignition all have a 12v ground running through them when the bike is off, as if they are acting as an earth wire (- multimeter lead on wire, + on battery).