BMW K bikes (Bricks)

You are not connected. Please login or register

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Back to top Go down   The SSS the FPR and the WTF Empty The SSS the FPR and the WTF Tue May 06, 2014 9:51 pm

TSBT

Silver member
Silver member
Thanks for pointing it out Inge. 

I'll check the side stand switch, then learn how to test a relay. Duck, when you say put a vacuum hose over the tang, I'm trying to imagine this, do you mean just cut a piece of hose and wrap it to restrict it?

I should add I need a multimeter that works, returned my good one to HomeDepot which was too expensive, I'm now left with this made-in-China crap that does't show 12V on the dial, it's a bit confusing, I'm not even sure it'll work. Then again I'm not a multimeter expert.

The SSS the FPR and the WTF Multim10

I initially tested the tank plug to see if was getting power with one of those pins with the red light on top, with alligator clip to the frame. To get a correct reading off the plug with a multimeter (assuming the one I have will work) is it red pin to (+) and the (-) to frame/battery, then I press the ignition for a reading?

2Back to top Go down   The SSS the FPR and the WTF Empty Re: The SSS the FPR and the WTF Wed May 07, 2014 5:18 am

If it showed 12V on the dial then that would be up to 12 volts. If you connect it to the bike battery while the engine is running it would read MAX as 13.8 volts is over 12 volts. Put it on 20V and it will show you 13.8 volts.

3Back to top Go down   The SSS the FPR and the WTF Empty Re: The SSS the FPR and the WTF Wed May 07, 2014 6:54 am

charlie99

charlie99
VIP
VIP
that one should work out ok chris

go forth and measure away

hope you read "kbikes " amps volts and measuring stuff thread

a good insight for beginners and multi meters

cheers

'86 K100 RT..#0090401 ..."Gerty" ( Gertrude Von Clickandshift ) --------O%O
'86 k100 rs.. #######..  "Fred " (f(rame) red ) ( Fredrick leichtundschnell ) - -