BMW K bikes (Bricks)

You are not connected. Please login or register

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Back to top Go down   Hello From Australia Empty Hello From Australia Mon Feb 27, 2012 12:41 am

Halo

Halo
Life time member
Life time member
Hello,

I am new to BMW K100's however brought a $500 special sitting for several years with 101k's(if you can trust the speedo don't know yet) 1984 RS last month extremely weathered and dropped off the stand several times but looks like never dropped on the road. Has never been started by me yet, has bold tyres and oil leaks from all the problem spots (about 1/2 a litre on the ground with looks like slipping clutch as well).

I have had numerous jap bikes all my life namely high performance ones however via reading about these K 100's & dismantling this one have instantly fallen in love with this totally different concept bike.

Ever since I went to the local BMW shop for advice and they told me the $500 I paid for the 84 model was $500 to much due to this early models inherant faults I have made a promise to myself a shall restore this bike.

Since then I have done extensive reading (thanks to this forum as well) on the issues & generally about this bike and am in the middle of stripping every part down for inspection and replacement. My mission is to restore each part both mechanically & cosmetically back to its former glory and with my small workshop tools sandblasters etc I hope to achieve this.

Lucky for me Motobins UK has most parts at very reasonable prices and with the bike now stripped down and 600 pounds of all of the trouble/ rubber bits on the way ($1000's cheaper than here in Aussie) I shall give this bike my best shot.

Last edited by halo_player on Mon Feb 27, 2012 2:00 am; edited 2 times in total (Reason for editing : spelling mistakes)

2Back to top Go down   Hello From Australia Empty Re: Hello From Australia Mon Feb 27, 2012 1:15 am

Rick G

Rick G
admin
admin