BMW K bikes (Bricks)

You are not connected. Please login or register

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Back to top Go down   K100 RT bevel box Empty K100 RT bevel box Sat Mar 03, 2012 4:40 am

scorpiobiker

Hi folks, I am new to the world of BMW I had the RT since last August and im loving it. I need to find ways to improve the economy as fuel prices keep rising. I understand fitting the bevel box from the RS is a good starting point. How do i identify a RS bevel box are there any numbers on the part? Is this mod just a straight swap or does it involve some other parts? Any other ideas for improving economy would be useful too as im currently getting around 40mpg in normal use. Not sure what sort of mpg i should be getting , it is an old bike and its history is unknown.

Regards

Shaun Hinchliffe

2Back to top Go down   K100 RT bevel box Empty Re: K100 RT bevel box Sat Mar 03, 2012 5:57 am

Rick G

Rick G
admin
admin
Greetings Shaun Welcome to the forum.
The rear drive from an RT is a ratio of 32/11 which is 2.90 and the RS is 31/11 which is 2.81.
The numbers 32 11 or 31 11 will be stamped on the rear drive aluminium case where the drive bolts to the swinging arm on the upper flat section right where they join together. You don't need to unbolt the drive.
I would expect to get better consumption than 40mpg most I know are getting around 50mpg or better.
It may pay to check out the state of tune before going to the trouble of changing the rear drive.
On the portal page of this site there is a thread called You bought a K100 so what now! It will pay to have a good read of that first and you will get an idea of what to do to get the bike back in good running order.
If you put an introductory post in the new members page you will be able to get access to the downloads page which is a gold mine of great info.